Reflection

Reflection

May 8, 2016

Over the weekend, I have been doing more research and a lot of reading. I can’t even explain how surprised I was when I found out that I match the descriptions so well and I have something that I didn’t even know I have for twenty one years. After learning in depth about joint hypermobility and joint hypermobility syndrome, I realized that I probably got this from my mom. Joint hypermobility is often hereditary and so I probably got this from my mom. I have known that my mom also has hyperextended elbow its just that her elbow isn’t as extreme as mine and my dad is normal. It is really interesting to know that not everyone with joint hypermobility have other problems and my mom clearly does not have other problems that I happened to have. I was going down the list of symptoms of joint hypermobility syndrome and I was amazed to found out that I fit in quite well. I have flexible back and it is pretty much always in pain even if I’m not dancing. I have clicking joints and although I have never dislocate a joint before, there are a few occasions that I felt like my shoulder and knee joints are popping in and out. I also have a tendency to get injured, I have minor sprains a lot which will usually heal pretty fast if I let it rest well. But I felt like it always takes my body longer to heal from bruises or small wounds. What surprise me is the digestive problems, I had constipation since when I was a baby and although I have never tested for irritable bowel syndrome, I do have pretty weak stomach and I can’t digest carbs very well. It was also mentioned that flat feet or fallen arches can be the result of loose connective tissue, such as Ehlers-Danlos syndrome or joint hypermobility syndrome. The last one is the stretchy skin. Joint hypermobility syndrome is widely thought to be an underlying condition called Ehlers-Danlos syndrome.

Leave a comment